Sign in to follow this  
gotbeer

Camping and Hiking Thread

134 posts in this topic

So anyone out there Hike or Camp often?  I've been hiking for about 2 months now.  Me and a buddy go out to East Fork in the San Gabriel Mountains to pan for gold.  Typically, we go about 2.5-4 miles up the trail, carrying from 20-60 lbs, depending on if we camp overnight or just do a daytrip to gold hunt.  It's not that high in elevation, 1,900-2,900 feet if we go all the way to the Bridge of Nowhere. 

And I've got to say, I'm kind of hooked on it.  The gold hunt is just recreational, we find a small amount each time.  But since I've started hiking, I've lost 10 lbs, and have been getting better and better at the hiking aspect.

This next trip is going to be a challenge though.   Probably carrying at least 20-30 lbs, 15 of that in just water.  Elevation change of  2675 ft, to a high point of 4650 ft for a round trip of about 12 miles.  And it'll be my first hike on a trail rated as hard. 

2 hours ago, calscuf said:

I've read so many stories about Asians getting lost while hiking I'd be really careful.

You know what a gut check is?  When like a 70 year old Asian passes you up on the trail.  And it's happened more than once.

But yeah, this next hike is going to be interesting in that the last 1/4 of the hike will be on an unmaintained trail. 

2 hours ago, calscuf said:

I'm impressed you actually found that article.  And that's not me. 

Ok maybe it is.

1 hour ago, Jason said:

The Eastern Sierras are pretty awesome for both hiking and camping. The elevations are high so being in shape is really helpful

Yeah, I want to keep doing these types of hikes.  My next step down the line will be Mt. Gorgornio at 11k feet.

22 minutes ago, gotbeer said:

Yeah, I want to keep doing these types of hikes.  My next step down the line will be Mt. Gorgornio at 11k feet.

I got lost on that mountain about 20 years ago. That was prior to the GPS days.

12 minutes ago, Jason said: